The Show Team


The show team comprises of an Executive Council, five Sub-Committees (Finance, Marketing, Bookings, Facilities and  Competitions), numerous Section Secretaries, plus a number of Honorary positions. The Executive Council (or Steering Committee) comprises of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, Finance Head, Marketing Head, Bookings Head, Facilities Head and Competitions Head.

Executive Council Members

Chair: Karen Bullivant
Vice-Chair: Martin Ibberson (Fa)  
Secretary: Sylvia Ford (C)
Treasurer: Paul Gibson (Fi)
Head of Facilities: Jake Hinchliffe (Fa)
Head of Bookings: Jonathan Evans (B)
Head of Finance: Pam Ervine (Fi)
Head of Marketing: Sarah Battye (M)
Head of Competitions: Louise Hardy (C)
Health & Safety Officer: Stuart Naisbett (Fa)

Honorary Positions

Honorary President Chris Ramsden  
Honorary Commentator Martyn Jones  
Honorary Accountant: Greenwood Barton  
Honorary Veterinary Officer: Donaldson’s Vets  
Honorary Medical Services: Nick Holbrook

Classes & Competition Secretaries

Horse Section: Anne Clayton (C)  
Dog Section: Sylvia Ford (C)  
Flower & Vegetable Section: Nikki Pattinson (C)  
Domestic & Children Section: Louise Hardy (C)  
Rabbit & Small Livestock Section: Howard Thacker (C)  
Poultry & Pigeon Section: Melvyn Shaw (C)  
Children’s Games & Races: Bev Auty  

Committee Members

Darren Brooke (Fa) Graham Ervine (Fa) John Plachcinski (Fa)
Rachel Plachcinski (Fa) Simon Whitelock (Fa) Margaret Hirstle (Fa)
Scott Wood (Fa) Andrew Bullivant (Fi) Stacey Henry (Fi)
Care Johnson (M) Tabitha Grooby (M) Helen Wilson (M)
Zoe Whitelock (M) Sara Hill (M) Sarah Battye (M)
Carol Davies (M) Joseph Kelly (M) Julia Smith (C)
 Shannon Auty (C) Alison Henry (C) Pat Newsome (C)
Mandy Sheard (C) Tom Auty (C) Eileen Wilkinson (C)
 Lisa Henry (C)  Jessica Auty (C)  Mandy Sheard (C)
Elizabeth Naylor (B) Susan Stubley (B)  Paul Blakeley (B)
Geoff Wrathmell (B) John Rockett (B) Elaine Harnes
Lewis Wilson    

Fa = Facilities, Fi = Finance, B = Bookings, M = Marketing, C = Competitions


Becoming a Member

Mirfield Show would not have grown over the years without its team of volunteer committee members – and over the last seventy years there have been many new members join and it these people that bring the fresh ideas into the show. So we are always looking for new blood with new ideas and younger people with loads of energy to drive the show forward for many more years to come. We can assure you that we are not a boring and stuffy committee – we are a team that brings people together from different backgrounds and with different interests. It is a great place to meet a wide variety of new people and be part of a key event in the Mirfield calendar.

Nobody is ever thrown in at the deep end (unless they wish), and there are roles to fit most people’s abilities and interests. There are roles for everyone, from event organisers to publicity generators, well-organised administrators, to stewarding many of the exhibits, to actual physical manpower – and much more. Mirfield and district has a great community spirit, full of enterprising people who have fresh ideas and loads of energy – and it is essential that this continues to keep the show growing for the next seventy years.

There are only six full committee meetings each year – plus a small number of sub-committee meetings which varies depending on which you would like to join.

If you are interested in joining the team and being part of Mirfield Show, just get in contact with the Mirfield Show Chairman at or via the Contact Us Page who will invite you to the next appropriate meeting.


Mirfield Show Team



Print Friendly